Posts Tagged ‘roots’

Hubie Sounds Presents: Roots Of Breakbeat

25 February, 2013

Hi everyone. Hubie Sounds is back on the NSB Radio interwaves this Tuesday with another special show chock full of classic tunes.

This time around I’m going to delve into the roots of breakbeat and present a selection of tunes that have in one way or another influenced the genre over the last 40 years or so. This will by no means be a comprehensive or exhaustive selection of tunes – there’s just far too many to squeeze into a two hour show – but it should give a flavour of some of the great tunes that have influenced breaks over the years.

From classic soul and funk by the likes of James Brown and Parliament, ground breaking electro and hip hop by the likes of Afrika Bambaataa and De La Soul right through to early rave anthems by the likes of 2 Bad Mice and The Prodigy, there will be loads of massive tunes to keep your booties shaking this Tuesday night!

Hubie Sounds – Roots Of Breakbeat – Tuesday 26th February @ 9pm GMT – live and direct on NSB Radio!

Don’t forget to come and high-five us in the Chatroom!

For all the details, including how to tune in to NSB Radio, check out the Radio Show page!

Hubie x

NSB Radio Logo

Download HUBIE SOUNDS Hip Hop & Electro Special!

18 September, 2009

Hey everyone, thanks for tuning in last night! We hope you enjoyed the hip hop & electro throwdown!

If you’d like to download the show, you can do so by clicking this link RIGHT HERE!

Here’s the show tracklist…

* Grandmaster Flash – Adventures Of Flash On The Wheels Of Steel (Sanctuary)
* Coldcut – Beats And Pieces (A Moment Of Your Time)
* Double D & Steinski – History Of Hip Hop – Lesson 1 (RPM)
* Mantronix – King Of Beats (Capitol)
* Beastie Boys – Sure Shot (Capitol)
* King Bee – Back By Dope Demand (Roadster)
* KRS-One – Sound Of Da Police (Zomba)
* NWA – F___ Tha Police (Capitol)
* Public Enemy – Night Of The Living Baseheads (Def Jam)
* Cypress Hill – I Ain’t Goin’ Out Like That (Columbia)
* Snoop Doggy Dogg – Gin And Juice (Death Row)
* Warren G feat. Nate Dogg – Regulate (Violator)
* Boogie Down Productions – My Philosophy (Jive)
* Blackalicious – Deception (Mo’Wax)
* DJ Format feat. Abdominal – Ill Culinary Behaviour (Genuine)
* Del Tha Funkee Homosapien – Mistadobalina (WEA)
* A Tribe Called Quest – I Left My Wallet In El Segundo – Vampire Mix (Jive)
* Roots Manuva – Witness (One Hope) (Big Dada)
* Tone Loc – Wild Thing (Delicious Vinyl)
* Young MC – Know How (Delicious Vinyl)
* Herbie Hancock – Rockit (Sony)
* Whodini – Magic’s Wand (Jive)
* Grandmaster Flash & Melle Mel – White Lines (Don’t Do It) (Sanctuary)
* Funky 4 + 1 – That’s The Joint (Sanctuary)
* Masta Ace – Born To Roll (Delicious Vinyl)
* Sugarhill Gang – Rapper’s Delight (Sanctuary)
* Flight Of The Conchords – Hiphopopotamus vs. Rhymenoceros (feat. Rhymenoceros And The Hiphopopotamus) (Sub Pop)

Thanks for downloading this show, we hope you enjoy it!

Make sure you tune into the next edition of Hubie Sounds on Thursday 1st October @ 8pm UK time, live and direct on www.Brap.FM!

Previous Hubie Sounds shows can be downloaded here

Hubie x


%d bloggers like this: